Wilder: 4 Months

0046

It is so true what they say, that time really does fly. It’s crazy that four months ago, we welcomed Wilder into the world. That experience is something I will never forget, but it’s also good to remember that it’s all worth it.

My little nugget has grown so much. He’s developing quite the personality. He just had his four month appointment and here’s his stats:

12 lbs 14 oz | 24 inches long

He has had quite the past week as well. We have started him on foods/solids. There is actually a lot of controversy surrounding feeding a 4 month old rice cereal and solids. A few months ago, our pediatrician recommended he start rice cereal at 4 months. I also followed a few people on instagram and thought they were crazy when they said “he seemed interested in food, so we tried it” – that sounded like every baby is interested in everything to me.  Until one day I realized they weren’t crazy.

He was being fussy and I was getting breakfast ready. I picked him up and began to eat one handed like the mom of many talents I’ve become. He instantly stopped crying and watched me eat. He watched the spoon and was interested. That night, I went out and bought rice cereal and baby food.

img_0416

[First time trying rice cereal]

He LOVED it. Well, at first he wasn’t sure what to think, but then he ate the whole thing.

We started him on the solids mid week last week. I only give it to him once a day. I have also started using rice cereal with formula. I continually get clogged ducts on my left side so I don’t get that much when I pump. Our pediatrician said that solids might actually be good for him since he’s a little under weight for his age. She said to introduce him to more foods each week (but obviously stay away from honey and cows milk).

We also talked to the pedi about weaning him off breast milk and doing some bottles with formula. I’ve been having clogged duct issues and tried lactation cookies, fenugreek, drinking more water, etc. I still can’t pump more than 4 oz most days.

I’ve learned that there will always be someone out there telling me that I’m doing it wrong. But at the end of the day, my baby is happy. He is loved.

We have always approached our parenting styles a little differently than what we’ve read or what we’ve been told. What has been great is that I’ve been able to stay home this long to care for him. I know his routines, his likes and dislikes, how he likes to be soothed and calmed down. I feel like I’m a little bit more laid back to parenting (for now, before I have to lay down the law).

We are doing what works best for our family. What works best for our life. I tried the CIO (cry it out) method for nap times a few times and it just doesn’t work for us. I laid him down and let him cry for a half hour. You are suppose to do an hour, but I just couldn’t. He sleeps through the night. Why change what we are doing? He gets his naps throughout the day and goes to bed around the same time every night. However, if we are out or out of town, it might be earlier or it might be later. Sure, some days are hard when he isn’t himself (like getting his 4 month shots and he’s a stage 5 clinger), but he’s learning too.

I don’t know if there are right and wrong ways to do things, but what I do know is that we’ve got a pretty great kid so far.

4 Month Likes:

  • baby food
  • pulling mommy’s hair
  • new sensory activities (books, toys)
  • mornings
  • christmas lights
  • Bohemian Rhapsody (when mommy sings like crazy) and Jingle Bells

4 Month Dislikes:

  • being cleaned up after eating
  • getting his shots
  • being away from mommy for too long

Milestone: he rolled over! Jake and I missed it. I was on the floor with him doing tummy time. I handed Jake something and bam a second later, he’s on his back! That stinker!

He also recognizes our voices and faces. And recently, when Jake is holding him, he

Here are a few pictures of the last couple of months.

I’m starting to look for a nanny to come to our house so I can go back to work a few days a week next year. I know I’m going to have a hard time leaving him with someone I don’t know.

Jake is looking forward to Wilder being able to sit up by himself and playing with him.

I’m looking forward to our first Christmas as a family. Maybe Santa will make an appearance while we’re in Duluth!

Family Pics: Pixelposey Photography

One thought on “Wilder: 4 Months

  1. Little Wilder is such a blessing! What an amazing boy… you’re going to have such great memories. Keep snapping the pics! So in love with my grandbaby…

    Like

Leave a Reply

