Pregnancy and Wakesurfing

Last summer when we put the boat away for the winter, I knew that I had hung up my surfboard in the hopes I would pregnant for the next season. Well, we actually sold our boat so we could upgrade, so I guess we really didn’t put it away for the winter.

With the thought of transferring two embryos and the possibility of multiples, I told myself I wouldn’t wakesurf pregnant. I wanted to play it as safe as possible. I also told myself I wouldn’t color my hair either. That lasted 8 weeks…

Wakesurfing is something I enjoy. This is a place that I de stress. This is something that is fun and gives me a little bit of a workout. I don’t really like to work out, so this is the closest I come to getting that “runners high.”

IMG_4571IMG_3471FullSizeRender 4

 

Most pregnant women can go on through a pregnancy exercising regularly as long as it’s low risk/low impact (running, yoga, walking, swimming, etc). Wakesurfing is also low risk. It’s definitely different than water skiing and wakeboarding (where you can go 18-22 mph).

I was so careful my first trimester. Jake and I had a lot of restrictions with IVF. I couldn’t lift over 10 lbs, I couldn’t exercise, and I had to rest a lot. Since I’m so close to my due date, I figured, what the heck. Let’s try this!

I thought to myself, “why can’t I wakesurf?” I’ve been doing it for over 2 years and know what I’m doing. I haven’t wakeboarded for a while since I hurt my knee, so wakesurfing has been so much better for me. So I asked my doctor about the risks, showed him a video and explained it to him. He basically told me as long as I’m not doing jumps, spins, tricks, and fire hydrants, I should be fine. He said my balance would be off and that I might have a harder time. He also said that I would know my limits.

So, I wanted to write a post about one of my passions. I love wakesurfing. While it’s getting much harder for me to do things (walk the dog, walk up the stairs, bend over, tie my shoes, paint my toes, shave my legs), I still want to enjoy  the things I love. And since I don’t have too much fun shopping these days, so I voted wakesurfing.

IMG_1937

[34 weeks pregnant]

Here is a little Q&A about wakesurfing and me: 

What is Wakesurfing?

Wakesurfing is a water sport in which a rider trails behind a boat, riding the boat’s wake without being directly pulled by the boat.[1] After getting up on the wake, typically by use of a tow rope, the wakesurfers will drop the rope, and ride the steep face below the wave’s peak in a fashion reminiscent of surfing. Wakesurfers generally use special boards, designed specifically for wakes. – Wikipedia

What got you into Wakesurfing?

I’ve grown up on a boat. Growing up in Burlington, Iowa, you’re right on the Mississippi River. I’ve always been boating whether it was on the river with my grandpa Kipp and family or with my friends going to ISU beach, I’ve always been a river rat. When Jake and I got married, he knew I loved to boat and wakeboard. He also grew up boating and being active in water sports. We finally decided to make the move and get our own boat.

When they say couples should have hobbies together – we found ours. Jake and I have loved learning more about the sport together. He’s a big wakeboarder (he can do jumps and spins even). We have learned to play with ballast, tweak the wake plate, research surf boards, research new boats, and learn tricks together. It’s our thing.

Many people think Wakesurfing is too high risk and dangerous, why do I do it then?

I think the reason people have concerns about me surfing is because they don’t know too much about it.

  • The prop is 4 ft under the boat from the back of the swim platform
  • The boat goes 9-11 mph while you’re surfing. My sweet spot is usually 9.7
  • You use a rope to get you up, then once you find your balance and can stay with the boat, you can throw the rope in
  • If I fall, it’s no different than me jumping in a pool
  • I know how to protect myself and my belly
  • I know how to get up on the board the first try (again, I’m not new at this)
  • When I feel like I’m going to fall, I let go of the rope and glide into the water [see below pic]IMG_1917
  • Jake watches me and we try to have people on the boat with us just in case
  • I’ve been safe and haven’t done tricks this year
  • Since my legs are in so much pain and I’m quickly out of breath, I can only stay up for about 5 minutes
  • I only go one time while we’re out since it’s still taking some getting used to with this big ole belly

I’ve always believed that even though I’m pregnant or even though I’ll be a mom, I still want to be myself and do the things I love. Just because you’re pregnant shouldn’t mean your life should stop.

I’m being as safe as I can and loving my baby so much. I would never do anything to put myself or our very expensive IVF baby at risk. I’m just doing something that makes me happy.

It’s important that we be ourselves and continue to show each other love and support. I know that when I’m out there, that Wilder is happy because I’m happy.

IMG_2012

[Wakesurfing 34 weeks 2 days]

IMG_2100

[1 year ago vs today 35 weeks pregnant- wow my body has changed]

xoxo Kolby

Leave a Reply

