Health Updates

Hello IVF world! A lot has happened in this short month.

In June, I decided to get my Saline Infused Sonogram (SIS). The SIS is used to see if there is any thickening of the endometrium and to see if there are any polyps.

A small amount of saline is inserted through the catheter into the uterine cavity. I’m not going to lie, my tilted uterus did NOT like this. They also measured my cervix and did a trial transfer.

I had cramping most of the day, but eventually it went away. We did get good news! NO polyps. Nothing abnormal. It was such a huge relief.

About a few days after that, we were in Grand Rapids, MI for a wedding and I got really sick. We ended up in the ER in Brighton, MI for about 5 hours. I lost a lot of blood and had to be put on IV’s. Finally, they gave me IV antibiotics and anti nausea medicine. I was put on a BRAT diet (bananas, rice, applesauce, and toast) for a week. I missed food so bad.

We aren’t sure what is wrong yet, and I’m scheduled to get a colonoscopy next Tuesday.

At this point, they aren’t sure if it’s Crohn’s Disease or Ulcerative Colitis or something like the big cancer (which they keep saying); I’m trying to think positive and not to worry. The last thing I need is more stress.

I have the most amazing husband who is taking the time off work to be with me for the surgery. Hopefully we figure this out soon so we can move on with the plan. It’s important that we figure this out before trying the transfer so my body will be able to accept and carry pregnancy.

In August, we should find our egg donor. I am so excited but scared. At the SIS, we talked with our RE and we are hoping to transfer around Thanksgiving! Cross your fingers! Let’s hope that we can figure out my health issues and I can be in a better place by then.

I mean, I know it’s wishful thinking, but I already have my Star Wars nursery pinned on Pinterest!

Keep me in your thoughts and I hope for good news soon!

xoxo Kolby

2 thoughts on “Health Updates

  1. You’re the bravest person I know! I’m here & praying & will continue every day & every night! Continue to be strong & positive. I love you more than you can imagine.!

    Like

Leave a Reply

